Sam Wilding's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fiords and Flying

What a week that was… Monday began with the taxi picking me up at 5am. Off to the airport for the first leg of my journey to the Faroes. Glasgow to London was pretty easy, then on to Copenhagen for a stop over. After a dip in a saltwater pool at the hotel, I took the metro into town and went in search of the famous mermaid. With Hans Christian Anderson and Danny Kay tumbling round in my mind I asked directions only to be told that the mermaid was in Shanghai. On loan to China. WHAT? How dare they nick my mermaid. I had to settle, instead for a mediocre meal and a few near-death bicycle incidents before returning to my digs. The next day, it was off to the Faroes. Over the Norwegian coast and then over the Atlantic towards Iceland. The approach to the Faroes was very scary. You bank round and follow a twisting gorge between a set of 2000ft cliffs before landing on the short runway. That night I ate very well, thanks to Heri. He was my guide. Married to the daughter of a rich whaling captain, he certainly knew the best place to eat. Many of the houses have turf-covered roofs and the scenery there is very Tolkienesque. I did feel guilty for a moment when my very dedicated waitress ran half a mile up a hill, in the rain, to catch me up with my £1.50 glasses. I’d left them on my dinner table. Oops. Back to Glasgow via Copenhagen and London, I arrived home in time to take Katrina and Wee Ruth out for a meal. Thursday was relatively quiet and then it was down to the Wigtown Book Festival Party. Clare Wilson and myself mingled with fellow authors and chatted to people like Stuart Kelly of Scotland on Sunday and Reubus author, Ian Rankin. I did a signing all day Saturday and then drove home in time to play a 4 hour set at a wedding. Got in a 2am only to be woken early. I take the family to an adventure park near Inveraray. It’s great fun, climbing and walking with Betsy, Joe, Emma, Katrina and Ruth.

This week looks just as daunting. Finished meetings in Peterhead and I am up again at 5am for another flight to London. Back Friday, which is Joe’s 14th birthday and my 22nd wedding anniversary. Off to a Trossachs hotel and another wedding on saturday night, as a guest this time.

Found out that Christie Park Primary are to perform my UNICEF play and song about children’s rights on the 6th of Oct, but I will be off to the Frankfurt Book Fair to meet my German agent and a possible American one. Taking oldest daughter, Emma,

Ian and myself discuss the German Market, I think...

 on the 5 day trip.

No Responses to “Fiords and Flying”

Leave a Reply

