Sam Wilding's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Summer 2013 – Travel and Write

Summer is the time I recharge my batteries and get stuck into some new writing. In Croatia, I wrote the core of a new thriller called Parasite. It still has another 25,000 words to go, but at least I know where I’m going now. I’ve plotted the basic structure and flow for the remainder. I’ve also managed a short story for a Bloody Scotland Competition and a re-write of the Denthan series. This will now be a seven book series, so watch this space for news on that one. I’ve also worked on two new, stand alone children’s books, THE BLACK AND WHITE BOY and THE SAND CATCHER. Sample chapters to follow on http://www.samwilding.com

I spent some time in northern Spain, near Santander. Such a sweet spot and a great inspiration.

Whenever I do my school workshops children always ask – ‘When are you going to write about your adventures in the Bear Park?’ I worked with about 30 bears on the banks of Loch Lomond back in the 70s and 80s. I’ll probably get a row for the working title, but at the moment I favour BEAR NAKED. There are good, very honest reasons for this title; in fact, they are pretty scary ones that show how horrid people can be to animals. On the upside it will show how funny and forgiving these magnificent creatures can be, given a little love.

Looking forward to a presentation or two at the New Lanark Schools Book Festival on the 11th of September and, before that, a trip to The Botanics in Edinburgh to see the WINDSCAPE exhibition at the heart of the Book Festival. That should be on the 23rd of August.

It looks as though I may go to Rome for World Book Day in March 2014. I’ll keep you posted.

I’ve also got a dinner on the 14th of September with some of the best thriller writers in the world – Jo Nesbo and the likes… Hoping some of that talent rubs off.

Off to circumnavigate Loch Lomond on my little boat. Want to write up the history and nature as I go.

Hope to see you soon

Sam

20130816-220324.jpg

No Responses to “Summer 2013 – Travel and Write”

Leave a Reply

