Sam Wilding's Blog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Imagineering in Africa

Tiffy and Toffy in Uganda

September and October were busy with after school clubs and festivals. I was delighted to present at the Lanark Children’s Book Festival in September where around 150 children got to use their imagination, and learn a little more about the wind farm issues here in Scotland.

I also attended the BLOODY SCOTLAND thriller festival where I met Val McDermid and many more worthies. I hope to attend next year with a new thriller that’s almost complete.

I had the pleasure of visiting St Columba’s Book Club at Kilmacolm, and will be returning to the junior school as the Guest Speaker at their June 2014 prize giving. I also toured a number of West Dunbartonshire schools with fellow author, Clare Wilson. She was a star, and we seemed to pull off a fairly decent double act.

Finally, it was fun to find out that some of my Tiffy Toffy picture books had made their way to UGANDA, Africa.
School children there are learning English and Arithmetic.

I’ve been busy writing, as usual, and have a few books waiting in the wings…

A big thanks to all the fabulous children, librarians and teachers I’ve met on my travels so far this year.
Off to Hillhead Primary for Book Week at the end of November.

The major event of the month was of course the birth of seven, gorgeous flatcoat retriever puppies. Well done Betsy for being such a good mum.

Christmas, here I come!

No Responses to “Imagineering in Africa”

Leave a Reply

